Brown water. {Part 1}

My last entry detailed how brown water gushing out of my faucets came to be.

A thought hit me as quickly as the water was coming out.

This was nothing.

Of course, the moment I realized what was happening I jumped out, wiped Scrubbing Bubbles off my bare skin, and put my comfy clothes back on.

But when I walked back into the bathroom and stared at the mess, I knew…It was nothing.

That there were people in some parts of the world who would gladly bathe in water like that. Simply because that is what is available; they are grateful to even have water.

That this once in a “blue moon” occurrence pales in comparison to the years and years and years of clean, pure, filtered water I have been privileged to have.

Those kind of thoughts weren’t always natural to me. You see, I often beat myself up over the mistakes I make and the sins I continue to give into. My reactions to circumstances that are far from God-glorifying; my lack of patience, grace, and the love that Christ has called me to demonstrate toward others.

But in the moment, I caught a glimpse of the promise 2 Corinthians 5:17 holds for me. Old Elissa would have flipped {though I’m not going to say she didn’t make a brief appearance in some ways which I’ll discuss later in part two}; new Elissa was able to see what really mattered.

Some time ago, I had the chance to write a guest post over at {in}courage. At the time, Philippians 4:11-12 was really working in my heart. Learning to be content in every situation I am in is not the easiest thing in the world. Not when you desperately want a shower. And live in a world where you refuse to interact with people if you haven’t yet had one.

But in that moment, that is what I was. Content. Knowing peace. And having my perspectives in order.

It was confirmation a couple of days after this incident that I saw this tweet:

How is that for a gut check?

I do not know what this blog will become or really, at this moment, what it’s purpose is for. But one thing I know is that if I do not use it to try to open the eyes of others to worthy organizations, it will not be for much.

Below are links to some organizations that help to provide clean water to those in need. One day without clean water made my heart break, just break, for those that live like this daily. How can we not do something about that?

It can be one less Starbucks, Panera soup, or movie ticket we spend that can make a big difference to someone.

Good thing I have days of brown water. They teach me so much.

http://www.threeavocados.org/


http://www.bloodwatermission.com/how-we-work/how-we-work-water.php


http://donate.worldvision.org/OA_HTML/xxwv2ibeCCtpSctDspRte.jsp?section=10373

There is a Brown Water {Part 2} to come, but I’m going to break it up a little bit with some other happenings in my life. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Brown water. {Part 1}

  1. Such a great perspective that you have about it! I do the same- too often overlooking what I have as though it is a given, instead of seeing it as truly something to be thankful for.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

