new year.

Every year, when I was a little girl, my mom would allow me to make homemade confetti.

I’d spend hours preparing all day.  Sitting in front of the TV (I have always been a television fiend) I’d take scrap after scrap of paper and with a hole-puncher, put little dots of multi-colored paper into bags.

At midnight, fistfuls of confetti would cover our otherwise immaculate living room floor.  It was so much fun and one of my fondest memories growing up.

Now, of course, my mother allowed me to do this with the rule that I was the one who had to clean it up.  So by 12:05, there I was on hands and knees picking up these once fun little dots, putting them back into bags, and throwing them away until next year when the fun would begin again.

As I sat reflecting on this memory yesterday, the last day of 2012, I made the analogy to how God will often allow us to make a mistake (not that the confetti was a mistake), that we then have to “clean up”.  The good thing is he doesn’t allow us to clean it up all on our own.  We always have Him on our side.  Nonetheless, there are times we have to deal with the ramifications of any poor choices we make.  Especially ones that seemed like a good idea at the time.  Sure it was fun to throw the confetti in the air for all of 30 seconds.  But to spend the first hour of my new year cleaning it all up?  Not so much.  Funny how we as humans don’t take that into a count.  We spend a few moments in what we see as “pleasure” and then sometimes a lifetime to make up for those short moments.

Well, I don’t want to start 2013 on what seems like a negative note.  In fact, I hope this post will actually come as an encouragement!  I look forward to a new year where I can make better choices, try new things, and I eagerly anticipate the Lord seeing me through when I put Him first.  I will count the cost of the choices I make–good and bad.  It’s a good perspective to have.

Here’s a little collage from our NYE 2012.  Sorry to my father and husband that I completed eliminated from said collage. 🙂

NYE 2012

Happy 2013 friends!

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that isset before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.
Hebrews 12: 1-2, ESV

Leave a Reply

