Broken.

Every Friday, I {will try} to  participate in Lisa-Jo’s Five Minute Friday.

5-minute-friday-1What is Five Minute Friday?

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

***

It’s hard some days to put one foot in front of the other.  And I don’t even live a hard life.  I’ve not gone through many of the painful events others close to me have had to endure.  And yet, I want no part of it more times than I probably should admit–this imperfect and fallen world.

But when I really reflect on it, I have to see I am part of the problem.  My imperfections and fallen nature lend itself to the world.  No, I’m not of it.  But why then do I so often let myself get sucked in?

I had the most beautiful conversation with my son this morning.  We spoke about all things faith, and I ask the same question for the many-th year in a row.  What’s so good about Good Friday?

We take turns sharing.  A 33-year-old and a 9-year-old fumbling there way through this spiritual journey.  I see the good.

It’s so easy and yet so hard to look back on the person I was.  Now, she was broken.  She didn’t care about others.  How could she when she barely cared about herself?

I’m still broken.  In a different way.  I grieve that girl that existed.  And I mourn my sins today.  Crying this morning was different.  I am in awe that He could choose me. That He would.  That He did.

His body upon a tree.

Carrying my sin.  My shame.  My guilt.

I need not carry it no more.  There is still a brokenness that must exist though.

It’s the only one I hope I always have.

2 thoughts on “Broken.

  1. What a great verse from Psalm 51. Such a good reminder of the brokenness that must exist, even and especially as we try our best to piece ourselves back together. Blessings to you this Easter weekend.

  2. Because of today all those years ago, we have a hope of a new beginning. We have a hope and a future. Redemption. We remember what was past, but we will rejoice in what is now and what is to come. I love the verse you linked up to. That is what He wants of us, to always know that we need Him and we cannot do anything without Him. Be blessed, Lis and you remember and celebrate this weekend with your family.

Leave a Reply

