Rainbow cloud.

Driving on the parkway yesterday, my son and I saw something we had never seen before. Even when we showed my dad the pictures, he said he had never seen anything like it either.

Not really sure what it was, we dubbed it “rainbow cloud.” Have you ever seen something like this? photo (2)

Goob excitedly grabbed the iPad mini to snap some photos and was thrilled that he managed to capture it before we left it behind. He looked at his photos proudly. He was, after all, the one who noticed this special cloud and drew my attention to it. Now he had a tangible memory forever.

Mommy, that’s the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

Children will make you abundantly aware of the beauty that surrounds you. So, listen to them.

We drove another block.

Mom, why does God do that? Why does he give us those kind of things? Is it to remind us he is there?

photo (1)And with those questions, this momma’s heart swelled. Because he’s thinking about God. He’s identifying His work and drawing conclusions on His own that everything–everything–is a gift from the One who created it all.

We dialogued. I told him how grateful I was that he pointed out rainbow cloud to me.

It’s moments like this I will cherish when one day he’s finding even more spectacular things than rainbow clouds in a world I hope he’ll get to explore.

As long as he promises to send me photos of them.

photo

Leave a Reply

