May: A Month of Celebrating Motherhood

I am so excited for the month of May.

A couple of weeks ago, I was going over a list I have of scripture verses to pray for your child.  There are thirty-one verses, so it’s easy to focus on one per day during the months that have thirty-one days. This card was one of the best things I received at the last school I worked for. If you think your church would be interested in distributing this card, you can buy it in bulk here, but I also found someone who recreated the card in a printable format.

I started thinking about this card and a comment my husband often asks me about Facebook: “What’s the point of having one?”  I’m always quick to respond that I use Facebook to keep in touch with my family, to share our funny stories (I love to make people laugh), but mostly to encourage others.  I really believe that while some want to see the negatives of social media, there are those–like me–who want to use it to share life with others.  The good and the bag; the beautiful and the ugly.  I love to share stories of hope I find on the internet, a verse, a song…whatever I believe in my heart can possibly make someone else’s day better.

As I mulled over the question though for some time, a thought entered my mind–why not put my words into better action?  Meaning, if I really believe that I’m using Facebook to encourage others, how can I be even more intentional with that?

So I decided that during the month of May, I would type one virtue per day on Facebook to encourage parents to pray for their children.

The idea did not end there.  I’m not sure if it was later in the day or the next one, but I couldn’t shake this feeling that there was something more.  And I do believe it was God Himself who placed this idea on my heart–

I wanted to encourage mothers scientifically.  May is the month we celebrate these marvelous women–not just the ones who have biological children, but any woman who is a caregiver to children–and I just know how much encouragement moms need.  Why do I know this?  Because I need it every day myself.  I also read other blogs, I attend a ladies Bible study, and I read books on motherhood and that’s enough for me to know how needed it is.  We moms can get really down on ourselves.  I just finished writing a message to someone where I stated I wonder more often than not just how badly I’m messing my child up.  I feel like I fail daily.

But here’s the thing.  I know many moms who have walked this road before me, and I want to glean from them.  Also in my life, I have moms with children younger than mine or who are just entering the world of motherhood and I want to be an example to them.  I want to share MY story, so in those desperate moments they will remember they are not alone.  You are never alone, moms!

And so God put this special project on my heart.  In the busyness of life, I procrastinated but I could not let it go and I knew I would regret it if I did not pursue it.  So I did.  I approached many mothers to ask if they would share their stories on this blog.

Originally, I approached women in different mothering “stages”.  I wanted a variety that would appeal to the different kinds of moms that might be reading.  As I spoke more and more about this project; however, I realized I did not want to place these moms in just “one” niche.  I simply wanted them to share their stories.  Because whatever their story is, they are a mom…and it will be beautiful.

Not everyone I approached replied or was able to participate, but I trust the nine ladies I have scheduled to share this month are the ones God had planned all along.  I hope to continue this project every May, to give all the amazing moms in my life a chance to share.

In the future, this project will definitely be better laid out.  Because, here we are on May 5 and I am just starting it when the plan was to kick off on May 1.  As I wrote in a group message to the contributors, that seems to be the theme of motherhood anyway: GRACE!

I have been tired and busy and some days my biggest accomplishment is that I was able to make it out of bed.  But I am glad that although it’s off to a slow start, I will get this done.  I know this is something God wants me to see through (because I often have ideas but little follow through) and I can’t wait to look back over this month and see all that has been accomplished.

So stay tuned!  In addition to hearing from other moms this month on A Life Well Done, I’ll be sharing my own mothering stories and there will also be a giveaway!

Whether you are a mom already or waiting to become one, I pray this series will encourage you.  More than anything, I want you to be encouraged in your walk and strengthened in your journey.

momentousmotherhood{via}

P.S.  I’ll be popping in to share the Biblical Virtue of the day to pray over your child.  Some days I’ll blog about the verse; other days it will be just to post the theme and verse.  Since we’re already supposed to be on day 5, let’s catch up!

Day 1: Salvation

“Lord, let salvation spring up within my children, that they may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with eternal glory” (Is. 45:8, 2 Tim. 2:10).

Day 2: Growth in grace

“I pray that my children may grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ” (2 Peter 3:18).

Day 3: Love

“Grant, Lord, that my children may learn to live a life of love, through the Spirit who dwells in them” (Gal. 5:25, Eph. 5:2).

Day 4: Honesty and integrity

“May integrity and honesty be their virtue and their protection” (Ps. 25:21).

Day 5: Self-control

“Father, help my children not to be like many others around them, but let them be alert and self-controlled in all they do” (1 Thess 5:6).

One thought on “May: A Month of Celebrating Motherhood

  1. Pingback: What Maple Syrup Taught Me About Motherhood: Guest Post | A Life Well Done

Leave a Reply

